CC&C - Our productions - AMERICA'S GREAT WAR 1917-1918

Our productions - History

AMERICA'S GREAT WAR 1917-1918

Back to the list

Authors : Stéphane Bégoin and Thomas Marlier

 

Produced by CC&C - Louis Vaudeville, INRAP (French national institute for preventive archaeological research)

 

Lenght : 52 minutes

 

International Distribution : Zed Distribution

First broadcast on french TV : France 5, 2017

Other broadcast on French TV : Toute l'Histoire

Broadcasting abroad :

-          TV5 Québec Canada : April 3rd 2017

-          National Geographic US : April 5th 2017

-          RTBF : April 28th 2017

1917. In Europe, the First World War has been raging for three long years. During this last year of conflict, the USA enter the war, sending a substantial contingent to fight alongside the exhausted French and English troops.

These 2 million American soldiers, nicknamed the Sammies (sent by Uncle Sam), do not really know why they are there, nor for how long. Nonetheless, they will prove to be the undisputed artisans of Allied victory. At the same time, they will hoist their country to the rank of world's leading military and economic power...

2017. Each year in France, bodies, objects and graves continue to be discovered in the battlefields of the Great War.  For many months, violent combat on fields tilled by artillery fire killed men, sometimes hiding away their remains forever. When these remains do surface, archeologists face the same questions each time: who were these soldiers? What fate brought them here, under enemy fire?

 

These traces revealed in the ground, combined with poignant archive footage from the 1910's, provide an emotional account of this violent tale and of the emergence of a nation.

Trailer

CC&C - Nos productions - LES AMERICAINS DANS LA GRANDE GUERRE 1917-1918

Nos productions - Histoire

LES AMERICAINS DANS LA GRANDE GUERRE 1917-1918

Retour à la liste

Auteurs : Stéphane Bégoin et Thomas Marlier

Commentaire dit par Philippe Dormoy

Produit par CC&C - Louis Vaudeville, INRAP (Institut National de Recherches Archéologiques Préventives)

 

Durée : 52 minutes

Distribution internationale : ZED Distribution

1ère diffusion : France 5, 2017, date non communiquée

Autre diffuseur France : Toute l'Histoire

Diffusion à l'étranger :

-          TV5 Québec Canada : le 3 avril 2017

-          National Geographic US : 5 avril 2017

-          RTBF : 28 avril 2017

1917. En Europe, la Première Guerre Mondiale fait rage depuis trois ans déjà. Lors de cette dernière année de conflit, les Etats-Unis entrent en guerre, et envoient leur contingent prêter main-forte aux soldats français et anglais exsangues.

Ces 2 millions de soldats américains que l'on appelle déjà les « Sammies » (les envoyés de l'oncle Sam), ne savent pas réellement pourquoi ils sont là ni pour combien de temps. Ils seront pourtant les artisans incontestables de la victoire des Alliés, et donneront à leur pays la stature de première puissance militaire et économique mondiale.

2017. Chaque année en France, des corps, des objets, ou des sépultures, sont retrouvés à l'emplacement des champs de bataille de la Grande Guerre. Pendant des mois, la violence des combats sur des terrains labourés par les tirs d'artillerie a tué des hommes, les faisant parfois disparaître à jamais. Quand ils réapparaissent, les archéologues sont confrontés aux mêmes questions: qui étaient ces soldats ? Quel destin a pu les conduire, ici, sous le feu des attaques ennemies ?

Les traces ainsi révélées dans le sol, ainsi que les poignantes images d'archives d'époque,  témoignent avec émotion de cette histoire violente et de l'émergence d'une nation.

Bande annonce